The Directory

- The 411 on the Movers & Shakers in Politics

210 Capitol Ave Blog

CT NAACP’s ‘100 Most Influential Blacks’ Awards Include Many From General Assembly, State Government

by | Oct 29, 2021

Some 14 high-ranking state officials, 16 state representatives, four state senators, 15 education executives, and six chief law enforcement officers were among those recently honored as part of the NAACP Connecticut Chapter’s “100 Most Influential Blacks” awards:

2021 NAACP Most Influential Blacks

  1. Adam Cloud, Treasurer, City of Hartford
  2. Adrienne Parkmond, Chief Operating Officer, Workplace – Waterbury, CT
  3. Andre F. Baker, Jr., State Representative, Bridgeport, CT
  4. Andrea Barton Reeves, CEO, Connecticut Paid Leave Authority
  5. Andrea Comer, Deputy Commissioner for the Department of Consumer Protection
  6. Andrew N. Mais, Commissioner, Department of Insurance
  7. Anthony L. Nolan, State Representative, New London, CT
  8. Arnold Holmes, Most Worshipful Grand Master, Prince Hall Grand Lodge
  9. Ayanti Grant, District Director, Office of the 2nd Congressional District
  10. Ayesha Clarke, Chairman, Hartford Board of Education
  11. Barbara Fair, Civil Rights Activist
  12. Bobby Gibson, State Representative, Bloomfield, CT
  13. Brandon L. McGee, Jr., State Representative, Hartford, CT
  14. Brian M. Wright, Chief, New London Police Department
  15. Captain Esan O. Simon, Medical Director, U.S. Coast Guard Academy
  16. Captain Michael S. Fredie, Director of Admissions, US Coast Guard Academy
  17. Carleton J. Giles, Chairman, Connecticut Board of Pardons and Paroles
  18. Carlton Highsmith, Chairman of the Board, ConnCAT
  19. Charlene Russell Tucker, Commissioner, State Department of Education
  20. Charlie Stallworth, State Representative, Bridgeport, CT
  21. Cheryl C. De Vonish, CEO, Norwalk Community College
  22. Chris Cloud, Government Relations, Lobbyist
  23. Corey P. Paris, State Representative, Stamford, CT
  24. Curtis K. Goodwin, Community Activist
  25. David Adamms, Executive Director, William Graustein Memorial Fund
  26. Deborah Stanley McAulay, Chief Diversity Officer, Yale University
  27. Derell Wilson, Chairman, Democratic Town Committee of Norwich, CT
  28. DJ Buck, Program Director, Hot 93.7
  29. Donald F. Harris, Jr., Chairman, Bloomfield Board of Education
  30. Donald McAulay, Associate Deputy Director, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
  31. Douglas McCrory, State Senator, Hartford, CT
  32. Dr. Cato T. Laurencin, CEO, The Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering
  33. Dr. Dwayne Smith, CEO, Housatonic Community College
  34. Dr. G. Duncan Harris, CEO, Capital Community College
  35. Dr. Iline Tracey, Superintendent, New Haven Public Schools
  36. Dr. James Thompson, Superintendent, Bloomfield Public Schools
  37. Dr. Jane Gates, Provost & Senior Vice President Academic & Student Affairs, Connecticut State Colleges & Universities
  38. Dr. Karen DuBois-Walton, Executive Director, The City of New Haven Housing Authority
  39. Dr. Keith B. Churchwell, President, Yale New Haven Hospital
  40. Dr. Khalilah L. Brown-Dean, Associate Provost for Faculty – Quinnipiac University
  41. Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith, White House Task Force dedicated to Health Equity
  42. Dr. Michael T. Conner, Superintendent, Middletown Public Schools
  43. Dr. Miriam E. Delphin-Rittmon, U.S Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use
  44. Dr. Reginald J. Eadie, President & CEO, Trinity Health Of New England
  45. Dr. Terrell Hill, Superintendent, Windsor Public Schools
  46. Dr. Thomas G. Coley, Regional President of the Shoreline-West Region, CSCU
  47. Dr. Tracy Y. Espy, President, Mitchell College
  48. Dr. William “Terry” Brown, CEO, Gateway Community College
  49. Earnest Pagan, Business Representative, North Atlantic States Council of Carpenters Union
  50. Eboni S. Nelson, Dean and Professor of Law, UCONN Law School
  51. Elicia Pegues Spearman , Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Chair, International Leadership Fellows
  52. Emanuel “Manny” Sanchez, State Representative, New Britain, CT
  53. Erik Clemons , Executive Chairman, ConnCORP
  54. Gary A. Winfield, State Senator, New Haven, CT
  55. Glendowlyn Thames, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Economic and Community Development
  56. Glenn Davis, Vice President, Community Development Officer at Liberty Bank
  57. Heather Aaron, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Public Health
  58. Hon. Clifton Graves, Judge of Probate, New Haven
  59. Hon. Flemming Norcott , Chairman, Community Foundation of Greater New Haven
  60. Hon. Richard A. Robinson, Chief Justice, CT State Supreme Court
  61. Howard K. Hill, Chairman, Chamber of Commerce New Haven, CT
  62. Jahana Hayes, U.S Representative, 5th Congressional District
  63. Jay Williams , Director, Hartford Foundation for Public Giving
  64. John A. Alston, Jr., Chief, New Haven Fire Department
  65. Joshua M. Hall, State Representative, Hartford, CT
  66. Juanita James, President & CEO, Fairfield County’s Community Foundation
  67. Kenny A. Howell, Assistant Police Chief, Hartford Police Department
  68. Larry B. Butler, State Representative, Waterbury, CT
  69. Malcolm Ellis, Global Director, Technology and Strategy, DIAGEO
  70. Marilyn V. Moore, State Senator, Bridgeport, CT
  71. Melissa McCaw, Secretary, Connecticut Office of Policy and Management
  72. Michael Bradford, Vice Provost for Faculty, Staff, and Student Development at UCONN
  73. Michael Jefferson, Esq., Civil Rights Attorney
  74. Michael R. Taylor, CEO, Cornell Scott Hill Health Center
  75. Nicholas Fortson, President & CEO, CorePlus Credit Union
  76. Patricia “Billie” Miller, State Senator, Stamford, CT
  77. Patrick L. Green , President & CEO, Yale New Haven Health L+M
  78. Patrick Ridenhour, Chief, Danbury Police Department
  79. Paul Mounds, Jr., Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor
  80. Quentin W. Phipps, State Representative, Middletown, CT
  81. Raghib Allie-Brennan, State Representative, Danbury, CT
  82. Rob Simmelkjaer , Chairman, Connecticut Lottery
  83. Robyn A. Porter, State Representative, New Haven, CT
  84. Ronnell Higgins , Chief, Yale Police Department
  85. Sanford I. “Sandy” Cloud Jr., Chairman, UCONN Health
  86. Shawn Sequeira, Chief, Shelton Police Department
  87. Shawn T. Wooden, CT State Treasurer
  88. Shenae Draughn, Senior Vice President, The City of New Haven Housing Authority
  89. Sibongile ‘Bongi’ Magubane, Commissioner, Department of Motor Vehicles
  90. Stephanie Thomas, State Representative, Norwalk, CT
  91. Sonda J. Thomas, Grand Worthy Matron, O.E.S, CT (PHA)
  92. Suzette DeBeatham-Brown, Mayor, Bloomfield, CT
  93. Tammy Exum, State Representative, West Hartford, CT
  94. Tiffany Young, Executive Director, Hartford Yard Goats Foundation
  95. Toni E. Walker, State Representative, New Haven, CT
  96. Travis Simms, State Representative, Norwalk, CT
  97. Tyisha Walker-Myers, President, New Haven Board of Alders
  98. Vannessa Dorantes, Commissioner, Department of Children and Families
  99. Vernon Riddick, Chief, West Hartford Police Department
  100. Veronica T. DeLandro , State Coordinator, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

View the original list here (and click on the “View Recipients” button).